Jump to content


Wait, Something's Not Right Here!

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Swiss

  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:32 PM

Every now and then I'll be casually browsing the forum and when I try to enter a random topic, this'll show up:

Posted Image

Not sure why this is showing up. Any ideas on who watchmojo.com are? And I'm using Chrome, for the record.

Edited by Swiss, 05 March 2012 - 03:33 PM.

#2 Diz

  • Skype:Same as MSN.
  • Steam:radidsh
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rogaland, Norway
  • Country:Norway

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:38 PM

Never really tried Chrome, but it seems to me as if the web browser's built-in security features have detected something fishy on the advertisements' own original websites. I dunno. I think it's pretty much safe to browse here anyway. Not received any alerts myself. x3

#3 Chaos Warp

Chaos Warp

    I have no idea what to put here

  • TSS Member
  • 5221 Posts:
  • Skype:bmxskiawesomeness55 (say you're from SSMB when adding me)
  • Steam:chaoswarp
  • NNID:chaoswarp19 (say you're from SSMB when adding me)
  • XBL:son1c14 (say you're from SSMB when adding me)
  • PSN:chaoswarp19 (say you're from SSMB when adding me)
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere in the deep depths of Mystic Cave Zone......
  • Country:Canada

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:39 PM

Hey, this has happened to me also!

Edited by Chaos Warp, 05 March 2012 - 03:39 PM.

#4 Celestia

  • Skype:elementofchaos7
  • NNID:ElementofChaos
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:SEGA of Equestria
  • Country:Canada

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:46 PM

Huh, that just happened to me for the first time. Not sure what "watchmojo.com" even is...

#5 Carbo

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Country:Sweden

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:54 PM

Chrome's blacklist/security settings. Someone or something on the site is linking to a website that Chrome deems unsafe as per reports from their user base.

It's happened to me before when they blacklisted UK Resistance.

#6 Ming Ming Kanetsugu

Ming Ming Kanetsugu

    Putting God first in everything...

  • TSS Member
  • 3767 Posts:
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Orlando, FL, United States
  • Country:United States

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:17 PM

Yeah I got this error when trying to view this page:

I didn't want to view that page as I'm frightened about getting viruses on my computer. Now I can't read what went on there.

#7 gato

  • Skype:imarafan
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Green o.o
  • Country:Argentina

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:21 PM

it also happens to me in the very same page Ming posted.

Edited by gato, 05 March 2012 - 04:21 PM.

#8 bmn


    my face when ponies

  • Root Admin
  • 2092 Posts:
  • Twitch:gogobmn
  • XBL:gogobmn
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:
  • Country:England

Posted 05 March 2012 - 04:40 PM

Pretty simple, someone posted an image from a site that's currently blacklisted for having dangerous stuff. Which may or may not (probably the latter) be that site's fault. As a result, anything from that domain is flagged as being potentially dangerous, regardless of whether it is or not.

Images generally pose no threat, but there is the possibility of some data being logged (e.g. your IP address and browser name/version) and cookies set for that domain. Cookies will have little effect if you don't visit the site itself, and no effect if you don't access anything from the domain, but - if the domain is set up to do so, which is unlikely - it can facilitate some simple tracking of where you go that has their stuff.

SSMB doesn't allow Flash, ActiveX or Javascript from outside sources, which is where the real danger is. Regardless, this site likely got blacklisted due to displaying a dangerous ad they had little control over, which means there's no danger unless you actually visit the site.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users