Awoo.

Art Versus Entertainment

Nepenthe

So I inadvertently caused a bit of a divergence in the pet peeve topic, but a member had the most awesome idea: Take it outside. So I did and we're left with this, which is an interesting subject in its own right anyway so multiple opinions and teeth-gnashing are always welcome. This topic is primarily about film, but thoughts about how the subject applies to other forms of mass entertainment are appropriate as well.

So the questions: How do the concepts of "art" and "entertainment" compare and compete for you when deciding on a film to watch? Do you watch things primarily because they're high in conceptual or technical value/craftsmanship, do you watch things primarily because you believe they'll be fun and entertain you successfully for two hours, or do you mix it up and watch whatever looks the most interesting that month regardless of whether it attempts to be deeper than average or not?

As an animator, I'm pushing myself to be more discerning about what I spend my money on not only to potentially further my education and horizons in small ways, but to also support the talent and studios who I believe deserve it and I want to see thrive. I rarely go into films blind anymore, indulging in previews, reviews, makings-of and featurettes, comparative word of mouth, alternate media, and company and personal credentials long before the film is even released. I go by a particular reviewer's mantra: "There's good popcorn films and then there's bad popcorn films." I'm aiming to avoid the bad ones as best I can, even to the clear disdain of my friends and family who wanted to take me to movies I've deemed not worth my time.