Awoo.

Post count effects forum access, and other issues?

Danj86

To whom it may concern:

Hello, it's me again. I attempted to do a search to see if this has been asked before. I didn't find anything, but I am on my DS at the moment.

Here's the thing. I'm not an expert of forums but I have seen a couple of others. Some of which have special functions, like what the title suggests.

More specifically, not being able to create topics until you pass a certain amount of posts. Is that possible to do? Would it help prevent certain trolls from being...troll...like?

Maybe even restrict access to the PD section until a post milestone is hit, with it detailing personal troubles of members. It could ease the mind of members knowing that not just anybody can go in there.

I think one forum even made a game out of it, with stuff like leveling up and experience points.

Is that an idea that has been discussed before? Would it be possible? Would it make this

place any better?

Edited by DanJ86
  • Thumbs Up 6

That's what I've been suggesting lately as well, since we had a few troll attacks in the past few months, making the forum inaccessible at times.

I thought PD already had a 100 post count milestone before you could see it. Or am I thinking of something else? It's been suggested before that this place have validation before they can make topics though.

I know there's a ton of bad blood towards Retro here for whatever reason but their system for new members really works nicely in regards to keeping unwanted trolls and such out. Setting up a less harsh system that's similar is an idea.

Yeah, making it impossible to post a topic without a post count of 50-75 or something like that. Or maybe if possible, a time limit? As in, you couldn't post a topic without being a member for three months or something like that? That might be a little more fair as I know a lot of members lurk for a little while before they start posting regularly.