Awoo.

If you could reboot the Sonic games, what would you do?

Mountaindewandsprite

Hi, I'm new to SSMB. No need for long introduction so I'm just going to cut to the chase.

I understand that the Archie Sonic comics went through a reboot some time ago and I thought to myself that if I had the power to reboot the Sonic games (not that I would, Sega should just continue), they'd be different. Here's my list.

1) The story would take place on Mobius

I know that Mobius is a future earth, but I would have it as its own planet with Mobians being the dominant species. I've always loved the concept of Sonic being an extraterrestrial hedgehog. 

2) Eggman would either be an animal or the only human

Now, I love myself some Dr. Eggman as he is, but if the series was rebooted, I'd have him be a Mobian and if not that he could be like an alien invader from planet Earth trying to take over Mobius.

3) Find a balance between lightheartedness and seriousness

From Sonic the Hedgehog 1 (Yay!) to Shadow the Hedgehog (Meh.), I think there should be a balance of a lighthearted demeanor and a serious tone in the stories. Ex: Gravity Falls blends lightheartedness and seriousness very well. Not saying Sonic doesn't try to do it, though.

4) Simple arrangement in characters

Sonic = Protagonist. Eggman = Antagonist. Tails = Deuteragonist. Knuckles = Tritagonist. Amy = Supporting. The rest of the cast = minor/ recurring roles. See? Simple.

5)  Fast paced gameplay again

Silver = Fail. Big = HELL NO!!!! It's a game about being fast.

6) Balance of species/ Characters

This is nitpicking but I wanted to get this off my chest. Amy can stay as she is, but Shadow and Silver have got to be different species. Four hedgehogs are too many. Silver would be a mink, as originally intended, and Shadow would be a either a tenrec or a mongoose. There also needs to be more strong female characters like Blaze, to balance out the cast.