Sign in to follow this  
Plasme

What do you want from a teacher?

So I'm currently doing a PhD and am doing lecturing on the side. I've already taught over the last year, but I will probably teach over the next few years too.

And I'm just curious, what do you want out of a teacher? What teaching style works best for you?

Honestly, the first point for me is honesty. I've had a hell of a lot of teachers that bluff extremely about a number of things and I quickly lose respect for a teacher who can't keep their word and I'll stop taking what they say seriously at all. I'm not much a fan of total pushover teachers when it comes to subjects I have actual interest in. Another thing is consistency, you want a reliable source of knowledge and understanding and along with that someone who is reliable when it comes to work and assignments so you aren't thrown off. Should make you feel familiar with the person and their style. 

Speaking of style, a teacher has to remain interesting. This may be with lectures or anything else but it has to be engaging. I have a professor currently who fails to give incentive to why it is beneficial to understand the properties they describe and as a result many don't understand the work. With being interesting, there should be some sort of effort to show that what they are trying to teach actually matters to some sort of extent. Unless you are dealing with ultra-specialized people, raving on about total abstractions full-stop isn't going to work. 

Well, I'm currently taking a Psychology class at my college, and I have to say the teacher I have is purely amazing and the best teacher I've ever had in my entire life of going to school. And what I believe is the best thing about this teacher is transparency. She's a lady that loves to be open and as transparent as possible, and I think that's something many teachers should try and be.