Awoo.

The chosen animals species

Rowl

I always wondered, how do you fans feel about the animals species that Sonic Team has chosen for the designs of their main characters. I also asked me sometimes the question if some of the characters would have been better or worst received by the fans, if they would have been a different species. Like for example Silver was planned to be a mink instead of a hedgehog. Would Silver be received  better or worst by the fans if he would have been a mink?

When I studied 2D Animation the teachers also told us, that if you have an animals as one of your main characters, than you must design the character after the species her/she is based on. Your animal character must have visually some trades of the specific species and also must have some animals traits that also reflects their personality quit well.

Like for example good chosen animals designs for video game animal characters are the DK family, Sly and Spyro. DK's family are all apes and monkeys and the whole gameplay of this series reflects that. The characters climb, jump and eat bananas like real life primates. Sly is a raccoon thief, a character trade that people associate with raccoons and Spyro is a dragon that can fly and spit fire, something that dragons do in fairytales.

Some bad examples of chosen animal species are for me Banjo, Conker and Crash Bandicoot. All of them do not really take advantage of the species their designs are based on. Banjo for example could easily be any other animal, same goes for Conker and Crash. The only thing Banjo at least has in common with real bears if the cliché of bears loving honey, but that's about it. Not saying that those three are bad characters, but in the end all of them can be a different animals species.

Personally I'm actually okay with most of the chosen animals species in Sonic, but I have to say that their are some that are a bit questionable.