Awoo.

A Total Beginner's Guide to the History of Sonic

Slimybug

Having my interest recently piqued because of the movie, I’ve decided to look into the story of Sonic the Hedgehog. To my frustration, like many video games, its pretty ambiguous, and what we see, at least in the first few games, doesn’t tell us a lot. 

The first game’s manual simply says that Dr. Robotnik is turning animals into robots, and Sonic must stop him.

The second manual says Robotnik is creating a doomsday machine, and is turning animals into robots to help him.

Robotnik still lacks the 7 Chaos Emeralds, which are located somewhere on “the island” (presumably where Sonic lives). So Sonic must find them first. However, reading the whole manual, it seems that finding the Chaos Emeralds only occurs in bonus levels, and are not necessary for stopping Robotnik. Still, it’s their first message.

I’m wondering how much actually playing the games or watching videos of them being played might help, though I doubt they show much other than simply Sonic running, beating robots, and beating Robotnik in the end. 

The 3rd game, Sonic CD, has a very different storyline. The important points is that it names Sonic’s planet as Mobius, and features the debut of his girlfriend Princess Sally. Though Wikipedia calls her Amy Rose, and makes no mention of the name Princess Sally.

The 4th game, Sonic Chaos, names “the island” as “South Island,” and has the plot revolve around Robotnik stealing the Chaos emeralds, which will destroy the world. I’m not sure if all the emeralds, and therefore the entire game, is still on this one island on Mobius, nor that playing the game will help with that.

Sonic 3 (actually the 5th game) introduces Knuckles, who lives on the Floating Island, where Robotnik is now looking for the Chaos Emeralds. So, are there multiple sets of Chaos Emeralds, or did the writers just ignore any kind of continuity or sense and place them in a new location? I suspect the latter.