Awoo.

PS2 getting discontinued in 2010?

Detective Shadzter

Was just checking out the Official Playstation sites release calendar and noticed Sony have removed the PS2 from the release calendar. Sony did say they were going for a 10 year life cycle with PS2 and PS3 after all so could we be seeing the console get its discontinuation announced in 2010?

http://uk.playstation.com/games-media/release-calendar/

The retailers like GAME only have 3 games listed for 2010 on the platform too -

http://www.game.co.uk/PlayStation-2/_/N-1z13mn2Z1z13f85/

It's got to die sometime, right? Methinks it won't truly die until the dawning of the next generation however; the Wii has given it an extended extension to its lifespan.

• Thumbs Up 1

I've never thought about that, Patticus, but it most certainly seems true. The Wii, being much lower spec than the 360 and PS3, meant that the PS2 wasn't totally outdated. Games could be slap-dash ported to it.

I've never used my PS2 before- I need to buy a controller for it. And I've had it for almost 4 years.

• Thumbs Up 1

If you ask me the PS2 will keep getting Wii or PSP ports for a little while yet.

But Sony may well be thinking about letting it go. Wouldn't surprise me really. But they can't fully transfer the PS2 fanbase until they make the PS3 much more affordable! A lot of people are still confused why new games aren't coming out on PS2 (believe it or not)

Bah, twas a pretty crappy console anyways, and I don't see why it's lasted so long besides parents buying it for their kiddies because it's cheap.

• Thumbs Up 1
  • Bad Quality Post 1

The PS2 may be getting discontinued in 2010? Finally, some gaming justice; this is exactly what should have happened 9 years ago in the Dreamcast wars!

Well, I'm personally ecstatic that the bastard thing is on the way out; the console's entire abortive existence is a disgusting disgrace that I'll be glad to finally see the back of.