Awoo.

Why is Sonic 3 & Knuckles so awesome?

Chaos Rush

Recently, I haven't played Sonic at all. Then one day I decided to boot up Sonic Mega Collection, and I chose to play Sonic 3 & Knuckles. As soon as I started playing, I started remembering how awesome that game is. I pre-ordered Sonic Classic Collection, and the only game I play on it is Sonic 3 & Knuckles. I can't even explain how awesome the game is, it's just too awesome for words to comprehend. The only thing I don't like about the game is the title screen saying, "& KNUCKLES". I wish with the whole lock-on thing, they just put, "SONIC 3: Complete Version". I was a member of the old SSMB, and after playing S3&K, I'm suddenly obsessed with it, and that's what got me to re-join.

Does anyone else besides me think that the full version of Sonic 3 (AKA Sonic 3 & Knuckles) is the best Sonic game of all time? I still don't know why I think it's really awesome.

Edited by Chaos Rush
  • Thumbs Up 2

S3&K gets the ultimate leg up on the rest of the Sonic competition in the fact that it is twice as much game to love. Technicalities aside, it is basically two games. I actually liked the fact that they ended up on two separate carts though. The lock-on feature was a cool piece of technology that the home console market hadn't really developed yet. It really gave you the sense that Sega was giving you the cutting edge stuff to maximize your enjoyment.

On top of that, Sonic 3 just upped the stakes from Sonic 2. More emeralds, Hyper Sonic (and Tails and Knux too) as well as the save feature really made the game more enjoyable and "pick-up-able" to the masses whom couldn't take on the daunting challenge of a start to finish Sonic game. Lots of good stuff there.

Personally, I am partial to Sonic 2 though. (and even a bit of CD).

Oh, and welcome back to the obsession that is Sonic, Chaos Rush. You should have known that you could not escape the addiction.

Edited by Sega DogTagz